Minutes of the Executive Board Meeting

The Executive Board of the Henry-Stark Counties Special Education District met on Thursday, March 14, 2019 at 1:30 p.m. in the Henry-Stark Counties Special Education District Administrative Office, Kewanee, Illinois. Roll call showed the following members present: Mr. Nordstrom, Mr. Akers, Mr. O'Riley, Mr. Brumbaugh, Dr. Sullens, Dr. Sutton, and Mr. Kazubowski. Members absent: Mr. Gripp. Others present: Angie Zarvell and Robin O'Connor.

COMMENTS FROM

There were no comments from the visitors.

VISITORS:

CONSENT AGENDA: A motion was made by Akers and seconded by Sullens to approve the following items under Consent Agenda:

• 02/14/19 Executive Board Meeting Minutes

• 02/14/19 Executive Board Executive Session Minutes

• 02/15/19 & 02/28/19 Bills Payable

• 02/22/19 & 03/08/19 Payroll Withholding

• 02/22/19 & 03/08/19 Payroll and Benefits

• 02/28/19 Financial Statement

Roll call vote showed Akers, O'Riley, Brumbaugh, Sullens, Sutton, Nordstrom, and Kazubowski voting aye. No one voted nay.

Motion Carried 7-0

EXECUTIVE SESSION: Moti

Motion by Akers, seconded by Sullens to adjourn to executive session for the purpose of discussing the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees of the public body. 5ILCS 120/2(c)(1) Time: 1:31 p.m.

Voice Vote - Motion Carried 7-0

OPEN SESSION:

Motion by Nordstrom, seconded by Akers to return to open session at 2:14 p.m.

Voice Vote - Motion Carried 7-0

PERSONNEL:

A motion was made by Akers and seconded by Brumbaugh to approve and recommend to the Governing Board the following Personnel Items:

EMPLOYMENT

Mr. J. Roderick Smith School Psychologist

100 Days at \$350.00 Per Day

Begin Date: First day for the Henry-Stark Counties Special Ed. 2019-2020 calendar

CONTRACT NON-RENEWAL

Ms. Margaret Mroz

Cross Categorical Teacher/Annawan Grade School

Begin Date: 10/03/16

End Date: End of the 2018-2019 School Year

Roll call vote showed Brumbaugh, Sullens, Sutton, Nordstrom, Akers,

O'Riley, and Kazubowski voting aye. No one voted nay.

<u>Motion Carried 7-0</u>

Page 2 March 14, 2019

ADMINISTRATORS FY20 SALARIES:

Motion by Akers, seconded by Nordstrom to approve and recommend to the Governing Board the FY20 salary increases for the Administrators. The FY20 salaries will be a 2.0% increase from the FY19 salaries. The total of salaries will increase \$15,901.49 without TRS and \$17,332.62 with TRS.

Roll call vote showed Sullens, Sutton, Nordstrom, Akers, O'Riley, Brumbaugh, and Kazubowski voting aye. No one voted nay.

Motion Carried 7-0

NON-UNION CLERICAL FY20 SALARY RECOMMENDATION:

Motion by O'Riley, Seconded by Sullens to approve and recommend to the Governing Board the Non-Certified office/secretarial staff salary/hourly raises for 2019-2020 (FY20) school term. Overall increase is 3% from previous year, FY19. Annual salary is based upon 1965 hours. The total of salaries will increase \$6,897.15 for the next school year.

Roll call vote showed Sutton, Nordstrom, Akers, O'Riley, Brumbaugh, Sullens, and Kazubowski voting aye. No one voted nay.

Motion Carried 7-0

INFORMATION ITEMS:

The following items were presented for discussion and/or review:

- 1. FY19 Cash Flow
- 2. ExCEL Report

Student News – There are currently 62 wolves in the ExCEL pack at this time. They have welcomed numerous new students in the past month. Kewanee Schools had two students of the month and Galva had one for the month of February. The students were chosen by the staff based on their outstanding behavior and work ethic.

Building News – ExCEL has created a school wide March Class Madness for the entire building. The entire building will be participating. Different classes go head to head each week and the highest percentage of signatures earned that week moves on to the next round with the champion being named on the last day before Spring Break.

3. Certified Staff Seniority List - Completed Years as of May 2018

certifica staff semerity Eist	Compre	100 1 0015 05 01 1110 2010	
Christine Gustafson	28.0	Stacey Morrell	2.0
Wendy Wagner	27.5	Kaitlyn Nordstrom	2.0
Andrea Hogue	23.0	Taylor Blair	2.0
Teresa Ince	22.0	Elizabeth Heisler	2.0
Heather Gainey	21.0	Sarah Kulp	2.0
Tara Kelly	21.0	Elenora Hendrix	2.0
Robin O'Connor	21.0	Elizabeth Koster	1.0
Kimberly Jennings	20.0	Kristina Swarczewski	1.5
Kathleen Lavin	18.5	Janna Richards	1.5
Brigette Fitzpatrick	18.0	Autumn Brown	1.0
Erin Sheets	18.0	Mark Jeffery	1.0
Lisa Witte	18.0	Jennifer Macko	1.0
Amber Krause	17.5	Margaret Mroz	1.0
Susan Draminski	17.0	Lauren Spivey	1.0
Steve Wheelock	15.0	Brooke Hickman	1.0
Regina Walk	15.0	Emily Izral	1.0
Jeannie Napier	12.0	Kylie Murphy	1.0
Jeffrey Belvel	11.0	Carly Anderson	1.0
Dawn Sheddan	11.0	Samantha Brody	1.0
Heather Walters	11.0	Blake Bullock	1.0
Lindsay Newman	9.0	Barbara Hildebrandt	1.0
Sarah Swanson	8.5	Rebecca Keener	1.0
Kelly Juskiv	8.0	Tarol Suddeth	1.0
Nicole Nelson	8.0	Emma Reidner	0.5
Kelly Lawrence	6.0	Jackilyn Boswell	0.0
Emily Rorem	6.0	Mariah Brooks	0.0
Nichole Taylor	6.0	Morgan Holthaus	0.0

Page 3 March 14, 2019

	Kellie Wilke	6.0	Jena Rice	0.0
	Jessica Sarnes	5.5	Claire Barton	0.0
	Stacie Phelps		Trista Bryant	0.0
	Karly Allen		Nicholas Christakos	0.0
	Tiffany Platz		Carly Kupersmith	0.0
	Heidi Heinrich		Kylee Wagenecht	0.0
	Jennifer Piester		James Wagner	0.0
	Drew Hoffman		Joan Horvath-Kruger	0.0
	Sasha Noble		Chelsea Verbeck	0.0
		3.0	Cheisea verbeck	0.0
	Megan Mahoney			
	Jennifer Smith	3.0		
	Ally Owen	3.0		
	Stacey Andrews	3.0		
	Katelyn Camp	3.0		
4.	Seniority Lists for Highly Quali	fied Ai	des, Interpreters, & Cust	odians –
	Completed Years as of May 201			
	Non-Certified Highly Qualified			
	Linda Barnett		Julie Blackert	1.5
	Jill Kinsella		Destiny Gorden	1.0
	Matthew Marchand		Chelsy Hallberg	1.0
	Susan Robinson	11.0	Lynn Heberer	1.0
	Ashley DeSmit	10.5	Carrie Miskinis	1.0
	Amber Spaniel	10.0	Caroline Streeter	1.0
	Jennifer Hoon	9.0	Tracy Thorp	1.0
	Darcie VanDoren		Michelle Ash	1.0
	Lisa VerStraete		Christina Minnaert	1.0
	Kelly Verscha		Heather Vandevoord	1.0
	Lora Johnson		Brooklyn Wexell	1.0
	Tina Matney		Tracy Calder	0.5
	Nichelle Hess		Jace Jennings	0.5
	Kari Sturtevant		Brenda Verbeck	0.5
				0.5
	Julie Bridgewater		Leslie Rogers Cathryn Gibler	
	Lori Tracy			0.0
	Heidi Wilson		Sheri McCadden	0.0
	Leila Interial		Rebekah Clancy	0.0
	Molly Mirocha		Meagan Paxton	0.0
	Stephanie Stephenson		Alexandria Simpson	0.0
	Mariah Hoelscher		Haley Conway	0.0
	Tina Mattan		Taylor Wilson	0.0
	Sara Tuttle		Jordan Reschke	0.0
	Kelsey Yordy		Merit Ringberg	0.0
	Allison Goodwin		Kari Rink	0.0
	Brenda Kegebein		Kelli Williams	0.0
	Leticia Munoz	2.0	Tiffany Carpenter	0.0
	Marianne Platz	2.0	Kaylynn McNamee	0.0
	Christopher King		Teresa Shipe	0.0
	Andrea Gonzalez		Debra Nelson	0.0
	Katherine Mierop		Brianna Vancleve	0.0
	Heidi Stanfield	2.0		
	Christie Burnett	2.0		
	Kathlene Johnson	2.0		
	Selena Tito	2.0		
	Kristina Bailey	2.0		
		2.0		
	Non-Certified Interpreters			
	None Non Cortified Custodians			
	Non-Certified Custodians Dranda Vacabain	145		
	Brenda Kegebein	14.5		
	Michael Kegebein	8.0		

Page 4 March 14, 2019

- 5. Director's Goal Update
- 6. Timely and Meaningful Consultation
 ISBE has required the cooperative districts to complete the Consolidated District
 Plan. Mr. Wertheim, Director of Henry-Stark Counties Special Education District
 #801 will be working with the cooperative district superintendents to complete
 the required paperwork.

ADJOURNMENT:

With no further items for discussion, a motion was made by Akers and seconded by Brumbaugh to adjourn. Time: 2:22 p.m.

<u>Voice Vote - Motion Carried 7-0</u>

Board Secretary		