Minutes of the Governing Board Meeting

The Governing Board of the Henry-Stark Counties Special Education District met on Thursday, August 15, 2024, at 12:08 p.m. in the Henry-Stark Counties Special Education District Administrative Office, Kewanee, Illinois.

1. ROLL CALL

Roll call showed the following members present: Mrs. Carrie Boelens, Mr. Andrew Larson, Mr. John DeBord, Mrs. Emily Leezer, Mr. Steve Newman, and Mrs. Julia Robinson. Members absent: Mrs. Jessica Peterson and Mrs. Kari Kipp. Others present: Mrs. Tanya Walker for Jessica Peterson and Casey Miller.

2. COMMENTS FROM VISITORS

None.

3. ADJOURN SINE DIE

Motion by Newman and seconded by Larson to adjourn sine die for the purpose of election of officers.

- A. Motion was made by Newman and second by Boelens for the Chairman appointed Mr. Wertheim as chairman pro tem, and Mrs. Harker as secretary pro tem. Voice vote- Motion Carried 7-0 Roll call showed Walker, Boelens, Larson, DeBord, Leezer, Robinson, and Newman as present. Members absent: Mrs. Kipp and Mrs. Peterson
- B. Boelens nominated Newman as Chairman of the Governing Board. Boelens motioned and seconded by DeBord. With no further nominations, the secretary was instructed to cast a unanimous vote for Mr. Newman.

 Motion Carried by Unanimous Vote 7-0.
- C. Walker nominated Boelens to continue to serve as Vice Chairman of the Governing Board. Walker motioned and Larson seconded the motion. With no further nominations, the secretary was instructed to cast a unanimous vote for Mrs. Carrie Boelens. Motion Carried by Unanimous Vote 7-0.
- D. Larson nominated DeBord to continue as Secretary of the Governing Board. Larson motioned and Walker seconded the motion. With no further nominations, the secretary was instructed to cast a unanimous vote for Mr. DeBord.
 Motion Carried by Unanimous Vote 7-0

4. CONSENT AGENDA

Motion was made by Larson and seconded by Walkerto approve the following items under Consent Agenda:

- A. Approved 06/13/24 Governing Board Minutes
- B. Approved 06/14/24-07/31/24 Bills Payable & Reimbursements
- C. Approved 06/07/24-08/02/24 Payroll Withholdings
- D. Approved 06/21/24-08/02/24 Payroll & Benefits
- E. Approved June & July Financial Statements

Roll call showed DeBord, Leezer, Robinson, Walker, Boelens, Larson, and Newman voting aye. No on voted nay.

5. EXECUTIVE SESSION

None needed.

6. PERSONNEL

A motion by Boelens and seconded by Walker to approve the following Personnel items:

- A. Personnel Chart
- B. Approved Employment for Certified and Non-Certified Staff
- C. Approved Requests for Leave for Certified and Non-Certified Staff
- D. Approved Resignations for Certified and Non-Certified Staff

Roll call showed Robinson, Walker, Boelens, Larson, DeBord, Leezer, and Newman, voting aye. No one voted nay.

7. ACTION ITEMS

- A. Approved OT & COTA Independent Contract Agreements for 2024-2025 Motioned by Larson and seconded by DeBord.
- B. Approved VI Teacher Contract Agreement for 2024-2025 Motioned by Larson and seconded by Walker.
- C. Approved to keep Semi Annual Review of the January 2024-June 2024 Closed Minutes Motioned by Boelens and seconded by Walker.
- D. Approved School Resource Officer Intergovernmental Agreement for 2024-2025 Motioned by DeBord and seconded by Walker.

Roll call showed Larson, DeBord, Leezer, Robinson, Walker, Boelens, and Newman voting aye. No one voted nay.

8. INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

The following items were presented for discussion and/or review:

- A. FY24 Cash Flow
- B. FY25 Cash Flow
- C. Team Assignments
- D. ExCEL Report
- E. IDEA Grant

Roll call showed DeBord, Leezer, Robinson, Walker, Boelens, Larson, and Newman voted aye. No one voted nay.

9. ADJOURNMENT

With no further items for discussion, a motion was made by Walker and seconded by Larson to adjourn. Time: 12:45 p.m.